HomeSportIndia vs South Africa: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah get...

India vs South Africa: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah get a break before England tour

The Board of Control for Cricket in India on Sunday, May 22 announced the India squads for the upcoming 5-match T20I series against South Africa at home and the one-off 5th Test against England in July. As expected, the big names, including captain Rohit Sharma, former skipper Virat Kohli, and pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami were rested from the white-ball commitments against the visiting Proteas side next month.

Captain Rohit Sharma, who was part of the T20I series and the Test series against Sri Lanka, had a tough campaign with Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League (IPL 2022). While plenty of experts, including former head coach, were calling for rest for Virat Kohli, who had a poor run in the season, the selectors have given Rohit a much-needed rest ahead of a major tour to England.

Rohit finished his IPL 2022 season without a fifty for the first time in his IPL career, scoring 268 runs in 14 matches. The Mumbai Indians finished with the wooden spoon for the first time as well.


It’s no surprise that Virat Kohli has been given a break. The former captain was struggling for runs and only showed signs of a return to form in their final league game against Gujarat Titans last week. Kohli himself hinted that he was open to the idea of taking a break after having had a topsy-turvy run in international cricket over the last 6-8 months.

Shastri had said Kohli was mentally fried and it’s high time that star batter takes a break to rejuvenate and reset.

“It’s not a lot of people who mentioned it. There is one person precisely who has mentioned it which is Ravi bhai and that’s because he has seen from close quarters over the last six-seven years the reality of the situation that I have been in,” Kohli told Star Sports last week.

“The amount of cricket that I have played and the ups and downs and the toll that it takes on you to play three formats of the game plus the IPL for 10-11 years non-stop with the seven years of captaincy in between,” he said.

Meanwhile, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami have been given breaks after a busy IPL season in the lead up to the England tour.

However, KL Rahul, who has led Lucknow Super Giants to the playoffs of IPL 2022,hasn’t been rested as he will lead India’s 18-man squad in the 5-match series against South Africa, starting June 9. Wicketkeeper-batter Rishabh Pant also hasn’t got a break as he has been named vice-captain for the T20I series.

India’s Test squad for England: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain) Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna

India’s T20I squad for South Africa: KL Rahul (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (vice-captain)(wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

Source link


Most Popular

Recent Comments