HomeSportRanji Trophy 2022 Final: Madhya Pradesh script history, win maiden title after...

Ranji Trophy 2022 Final: Madhya Pradesh script history, win maiden title after 6-wicket win over Mumbai


Madhya Pradesh scripted history on Sunday in Bengaluru as they won their first-ever Ranji Trophy title. MP, led by Aditya Shrivastava, defeated 41-time champions Mumbai in the final by 6 wickets at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Rajat Patidar, who is fast-rising to be one of the prominent names in Indian cricket, hit the winning runs as Madhya Pradesh chased down a 108-run target on Day 5 of the final. MP lost 4 wickets but Patidar kept a calm head and hit the winning runs, sending the players into a frenzy.

This was also Madhya Pradesh’s first outright win over Mumbai in a Ranji Trophy match as their bowlers did a fantastic job, bowling out Mumbai for 259 on the final day before their batters brushed aside an ordinary total.

Ranji Trophy has had 4 first-time winners in the last 5 seasons as Madhya Pradesh join the likes of Saurashtra, Vidarbha and Gujarat.

In front of a considerable crowd in Bengaluru, the Madhya Pradesh players celebrated with their coach Chandrakant Pandit leading the team huddle. Notably, it was Pandit who led Madhya Pradesh to their first final in the 1988-89 season but they lost to Karnataka in Bengaluru. 23 years later, it was under his watch that MP won the title.


Mumbai began the final day from their overnight score of 113 for 2 after captain Prithvi Shaw had gotten off to a quick start along with wicketkeeper Hardik Tamore. The onus to score quick fell on Arman Jaffer and Suved Parkar and the two batters began well.

Parkar hit a quickfire 51 following which Sarfaraz Khan hit a 45-ball 48, taking his tally to 982 runs – a dream campaign in which he hit 4 hundreds and 2 fifties. However, wickets started tumbling as Mumbai were under pressure to score quickly and give enough time for their bowlers to bowl out Madhya Pradesh in the final innings.

Mumbai were always behind in the second innings after having conceded a 161-run lead in the first innings.

Yashasvi Jaiswal, who batted at No. 6, fell for 1 following which there was no considerable contribution from the lower order. With Kumar Kartikeya picking up 4 wickets, Madhya Pradesh bowled out Mumbai for 269 and made sure they did not chase more than 108 runs.


In response, Madhya Pradesh lost opener and first-innings centurion Yash Dubey for 1. However, Himanshu Mantri and Shubman Sharma hit 37 and 30, respectively to take MP closer to the finish line.

Shubham Sharma,who hit 113 in the first innings, threw his wicket away, looking for a glory shot when 7 runs were needed but Patidar, who also hit a hundred in the first innings, got the job done.


Source link


Most Popular

Recent Comments