HomeSportWI vs BAN: West Indies name 12-member squad for Bangladesh Test series;...

WI vs BAN: West Indies name 12-member squad for Bangladesh Test series; Jason Holder rested

All-rounder Jason Holder won’t be a part of West Indies’ upcoming two-match Test series against Bangladesh after he requested for a break. On Thursday, June 9, Cricket West Indies (CWI) named a strong 12-man squad for the upcoming red-ball series.

“All-rounder Jason Holder is unavailable for selection as CWI has granted his request for a period of rest and recovery. He will therefore miss Bangladesh’s all-format tour of the West Indies,” the CWI said in a statement.

The two Test matches will take place at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound in Antigua and the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet in St Lucia. West Indies, in the meantime, have also picked three uncapped players, namely left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie, wicketkeeper batter Devon Thomas and right-arm pacer Anderson Phillip.

Even as Motie and Thomas have represented the Caribbean team in limited-overs cricket, Phillip is yet to don the national colours.

West Indies haven’t included pacer Kemar Roach, who sustained an injury during the County Championship on English soil. Veerasammy Permaul and Shamarh Brooks, who both played against England earlier this year, have been left out.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul’s son, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, has been included in the reserves in case players from the main squad get injured.

West Indies are currently placed sixth in the points table in the 2021-23 cycle of the World Test Championship. They won their previous Test series 0-1 against England.

West Indies Test squad

Kraigg Brathwaite (c), Jermaine Blackwood (vc), Nkrumah Bonner, John Campbell, Joshua Da Silva, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Jayden Seales, Devon Thomas


Tagernarine Chanderpaul, Shermon Lewis

Source link


Most Popular

Recent Comments